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Via Regular Mail
Robert Kemock

Property Manager

White Sands Central (Condominium)
2201 South East Central Ave.
Berkeley Township, New Jersey 08752

Via Electronic Mail

James L. Amici

Supervisor of Enforcement
Bureau of Housing Inspection
Department of Community Affairs

Re:  Department of Community Affairs, Division of Codes and Standards v. White

Sands Central (Condominium)
OAL Docket No. CAF 11646-16

Dear Parties:

Enclosed please find a copy of the Final Decision in the matter referenced above. Should
you wish to appeal from this Decision, you have the right to take an appeal with the Appellate
Division of the Superior Court [Rules Governing the Courts of New Jersey, 2:2-3(a)(2)]. You
must do so, however, within 45 days from the date of service of this Decision.

Sincerely,

/ et el A4

Donald Palombi
Director of Policy & Regulatory Affairs
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STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

FINAL DECISION

OAL DKT. NO. CAF 11646-16
AGENCY DKT. NO. 1514/1505009688

DEPARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS,
DIVISION OF CODES AND STANDARDS,
Petitioner,
V.

WHITE SANDS CENTRAL (CONDOMINIUM),
2201 SOUTH EAST CENTRAL AVENUE,
BERKELEY TOWNSHIP,

Respondent.

I have reviewed the Initial Decision issued in this matter, dated December 21, 2016, as
well as the exceptions filed by Petitioner Department of Comrunity Affairs, Bureau of
Housing Inspection (“BHI"). For the reasons set forth at length below, I have determined
to reject the Initial Decision and to reinstate the original penalty amount imposed by the
Bureau on Respondent White Sands Central.

The facts of this case are not in dispute. Rather, the sole issue turns on the interpretation
and application of the statutory and regulatory provisions that govern the assessment of
penalties by the Bureau. On or about March 15, 2016, the Bureau served Respondent
with an “Order to Pay the BHI Inspection Fee” and accompanying Inspection Report.
Specifically, the Order required payment of an inspection fee (which included a lead fee)
in the amount of $914 by June 14, 2016, 90 days from the date of the Order. The Order
stated that failure to pay by the due date would result in a penalty for failure to comply,
pursuant to the governing statute, N.J.S.A. 55:13A-19. In addition, the Inspection Report
went on to state that “[i]f payment is not received within 90 days, a penalty will be
assessed in the amount of $50 or 50% of the inspection fee, whichever is greater up to
$500 maximum.” Initial Decision, page 3.



Robert Kemock, representative of Respondent, testified that he contacted BHI and
requested an extension until the middle of July. He further testified that he was told by
the individual he spoke to that his contact information would be given to a supervisor,
who would call him. However, he received no further communication.

There is no dispute that the fee was not paid by the date indicated in the March 15 Order.
As a result, on July 19, 2016 the Bureau issued an “Order to Pay Inspection Fee and Pay
Inspection Fee Penalty.” This Order required payment of the original $914 fee as well as
a penalty amount of $457, representing 50% of the fee. On or about July 20, 2016
Respondent sent the Bureau a check for the $914 inspection fee. Kemock testitied that
Respondent received the Bureaw’s new Order containing the penalty on July 22, 2016.
Kemock testified that the delay in paying the inspection fee resulted from what he
described as cash-flow issues, and the fact that Respondent needed to pay its insurance
before it could pay the inspection fee.

In her Initial Decision, the Administralive Law Judge recognized that the Hotel and
Multiple Dwelling Law is “remedial legislation necessary for the protection of the health
and welfare of the residents of this State in order to assure the provision therefor of
decent, standard and safe units of dwelling space.” N.I.S.A. 55:13A-2. The statue is to be
“liberally construed™ in order to effectuate its purposes. lbid. With regard to penalties, the
Law provides that no person shall “[r]efuse or fail to comply with any lawful ruling,
action, order or notice of the commissioner.” N.J.S.A. 55:13A-19(a}4). Any person
violating that provision “shall be liable to a penalty of not less thun $50.00 nor more than
$500.00 for each violation, and a penally of not less than $500.00 nor more than
$5,000.00 for each continuing violation.” N.J.S.A. 53:13A-19(b).

The relevant regulatory provision, dealing with certificates of inspection and inspection
fees, is N.J.A.C. 5:10-1.12. It provides in pertinent part that:

(a)  Within 90 days of the most recent inspection of any hotel or
multiple dwelling, the owner thereof shall file with [the Bureau] or
a local enforcing agency exercising jurisdiction under NJ.S.A.
55:13A-13a, upon forms which shall have been provided, an
application for a certificate of inspection.

l. Any owner who shall fail to comply with the
requirements of this subsection and/or of (c) below shall be
subject to a penalty in the amount of 50 percent of the unpaid
fee, but not less than $50.00 nor more than $500.00 for each
such unpaid fee.



(¢) Said application shall be accompanied by a tee as required by
(h) below, except that no fee shall be required for a retreat lodging
lacility.

This is the Section relied upon and cited to by the Bureau in the present matter in setting
the amount of the penalty at $457 (50% of the fee).

In the Initial Decision, the ALJ found that Respondent had in fact failed to comply with
the March 15, 2016 Order by not paying the inspection fee within the time allowed.
However, she concluded that N.J.A.C. 5:10-1.12 was not applicable in this instance.
Thus, relying solely on the applicable statutory provision, the ALJ found that the penalty
couid be sel in any amount not less than $50 nor more than $500. She stated that the
Bureau had discretion as to the amount of any penalty, and could take into account
mitigating and aggravating circumstances. In that regard, she made note of Kemock's
call to the Bureau, and his assumption that his request for an extension had been granted.
The ALJ went on to say that while that conclusion may not have been reasonable, given
the lack of a return call from the Bureau, payment was in fact made within 30 days of the
due date, which was “not a significant amount of time.” Initial Decision, page 6. And,
she concluded that Respondent was “not in defiance of the Order or ignoring it” but
rather simply needed additional time. Ibid. The ALJ concluded that the penalty amount
should be modified to $150.

[ disagree with the ALJ’s conclusion that the regulation does not apply in this instance.
As | understand it, that conclusion seems based on the ALJ’s belief that the penalty
paragraph of that regulation (N.J.A.C. 5:10-1.12(a)(1)) which imposes the 50% penalty
amount, only applies to a failure to file a timely application for a certificate of inspection,
as required by N.J.A.C. 5:10-1.12(a). However, as cited above, that penalty paragraph
actually applies by its terms to “[alny owner who shall fail o comply with the
requirements of this subsection and/or of (c) below ...."” (emphasis added). The
provision referred to - N.J.A.C. 5:10-1.12(c) - is the requirement for payment by an
owner of an inspection fee. Thus, the language of the regulation imposing a 50% penalty
applies equally to a failure to pay an inspection fee in a timely manner, as occurred in this
case.

Thus, the appropriate calculation of the penalty is by application of the regulatory
standard, which imposes an automatic penalty amount of 50% of the unpaid fee, as long
as the amount is not less than 550 nor more than $500. In this case, that resulted in the
penalty of $457, as properly assessed by the Bureau.



Additionally, the Initial Decision recites several “mitigating factors” which the ALJ
determined supported a lower penalty amount. However, the regulation imposes a
specific penalty amount; it does not permit the exercise of Bureau discretion or the
consideration of “mitigating factors”. As such, the penalties are calculated uniformly and
consistently assessed against the regulated population.

For all of the reasons set torth in detail above, [ thus reject the Initial Decision, and
reinstate the original penalty amount of $457.
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CHARLES A. RICHMAN
Commissioner




